The Women of Tableau: Days 08-11

beach

Fortunately, this was my view all last week.
Unfortunately, there was no wi-fi which made it very difficult to post blogs all week.
To make up for the lack of posts last week, you’re getting all the women I was supposed to announce last week 🙂

Day 08: Emily Chen

Emily’s work is REALLY great! Her eye for design and background in analytics allows her to create some really powerful visualizations. With every viz that comes from Emily, it makes me ask questions and dig into the subject even more. Emily has a knack for telling stories through data visualization. I personally love this visualization, where Emily shows the many different visualizations that can be made. I also really love this visualization Emily created to show the impact of Dr. Luke and Kesha. Emily is doing some really amazing work; I highly encourage the Tableau community to read her blog and stay tuned to the awesomeness I know she’ll continue to pour onto the community.


Day 09: Jen Vaughn

Jen is an amazing advocate and Social Ambassador for the community. I first met Jen while getting ready for the Tableau Fringe Festival. Her presentation was thoughtful and educational. I enjoy reading Jen’s blog because she keeps it direct and helpful. Jen stays very active within the community – constantly posting new visualizations to her Tableau Public page, Tableau Social Ambassador and staying on top of Tableau certifications & exams. Jen’s an excellent storyteller and advocate for the Tableau community!


Day 10: Ashley Ohmann

I was lucky to meet Ashley in the early stages of my Tableau journey. She spoke at one of the first Atlanta TUGs I attended. I immediately knew she was someone that I was going to look up to as I continued to dig deeper into all that is Tableau. Ashley is an absolutely amazing presenter and teacher. She has taught so many members of the community how to be a better storyteller. Ashley is also a leader within the Data+Women group. I don’t just look up to Ashley to learn more technical Tableau skills, she is also an excellent mentor and engaging leader within the community.


Day 11: The Women Behind Tableau

research

Jonathan Drummey recently introduced me to an amazing hidden website that Tableau has. https://research.tableau.com is an amazing resource! In my exploration, I found some absolutely amazing women. These women are part of the research team that brings us the product that we all love and use daily. I believe these women (the whole research community, actually) is widely overlooked to the Tableau community. The researchers also release some really insightful papers that I highly recommend reading. This website has given me a sneak peek into the women behind Tableau. I personally love anything Maureen Stone releases; she scientifically explores color and writes so eloquently. The other really amazing women within the Tableau research community:

  • Anushka Anand
    focus: machine learning, graphical design
    *2015 Tableau Conference Data+Women meetup host
  • Sarah Battersby
    focus: spatial visualization, perception & cognition
  • Heidi Lam
    focus: analytic processing, evaluation methods
  • Vidya Setlur
    focus: computer graphics, mapping
  • Marianne Shaw
    focus: query optimization, graph data
  • Melanie Tory
    focus: interactive techniques, data analytics guidance & collaboration

Last but not least, the tip from last week that I constantly need to remind myself:

REST.

It’s easy to get caught up in everything, especially within this amazing community. There are so many different Tableau projects that you could get involved in – Monday Makeovers, Reviz Project, Data Dare, Data Chain Mail, Iron Viz qualifiers, just to name a few. I definitely think you should get involved if you aren’t already. However, I think rest is necessary. Rest allows us to think about how to be more innovative, to recharge our batteries a little bit and get inspired. I spent time at the beach – the laid back environment reminded me to live a simpler lifestyle. Just because your name is tied to many projects doesn’t mean you’re involved – make sure you are making an impact with whatever you decide to do.

 

Leave a Reply

