Becoming a Woman of Tableau: Week 1

It’s been a really great first week of doing the Women of Tableau blog series! To recap, I’ve highlighted three outstanding women within the community this week. If you happened to miss the posts, please take the time to read about Emily Kund, Jewel Loree & Bridget Cogley. Stay tuned, as I’ll continue to share many other women who have helped me and the rest of the Tableau community on Monday – Thursday of each week in March.

Fridays will be a bit different. On Friday, I’ll share how to become a Woman of Tableau. There are few women within that Tableau community & I’m very passionate about seeing that shift with the coming years. I hope these Friday post inspire you to become or stay active within this community that has completely changed my outlook on my career, my life and helping the world around me.

Start a blog.

This was a really hard first step for me. Before starting a blog, I had been using Tableau for nearly four years. I definitely knew the product very well by that time, but I was still so scared to share my views. What if I say something wrong? What if someone has already blogged about what I want to blog about? It seemed like I could come up with any excuse not to write – most of the excuses driven by fear.

One of my ultimate goals as a person is to help the people around me. I strive to be the best person I can be and with each day try to become a better version of myself. I realized that my fear was inhibiting me to help those around me. I was silenced by myself and I decided that needed to stop. I have a unique perspective, and I have to share it with the world (or at least those in the world that enjoy reading a blog about Tableau).

I encourage you to take a leap if you haven’t already. If you have – make it known. Share your posts on Twitter. Include the #TableauWomen hashtag so others know you’re posting, as well. Let’s be a community of women that encourage and inspire each other!

Leave a Reply

